Pioneer Heritage Townsite Center
The Pioneer Townsite is comprised of a general store, Horse Creek School building, museum building, church building, Big Red Barn, Frisco Depot, implement shed and working windmill, blacksmith shop and farm house, all representing the plains and Southwest Oklahoma in the 1920's era. The house and church are the original buildings restored to represent the 1920's. Also located on the premises is the Nill House, which was brought to this area by the Nill family in 1906 and originally constructed from a corn crib. The family of seven lived in this one room house for six months while constructing a new home.
Originally housed in the old Horse Creek School, the Tillman County Historical Museum is located within the museum complex. Museum artifacts include a variety of historic clothing, music instruments, children's toys, machines, wartime items, family living items and ladies hats. Browse a beautiful quilt collection made up of regional linen samples and stop by the loom for a demonstration that will take you back in time.
The newest addition to this facility is the Abernathy Boys exhibit and authentic replica of the brush car driven home from New York City by the Abernathy brothers, ages 5 and 9, who traveled to New York City on horseback to meet President Roosevelt. Special activities during the year include the Chuckwagon Dinner at Crossroads Ranch in June; Saturday night entertainment shows on the grounds in June and July, concluding with an ice cream social; Quilt Show in October; Cotton Festival and Seed to Sow during November which includes school groups picking cotton, ginning their cotton in a miniature gin and seeing the cotton woven on a spinning wheel; and Lantern Tour in December.