Rock Island 905 Museum & Tourist Center
The Rock Island 905 Museum & Travel Center, located in Duncan's Fuqua Park, features an old Rock Island steam locomotive #905 and an on-site museum housed in a replica 1892 train depot. Located in Fuqua Park since December 1954, the 4-6-2 Pacific locomotive was originally built by the American Locomotive Company in Schenectady, New York. Placed in service in August 1910 by the Rock Island Railroad, the locomotive was coal-fired and could reach top speeds of 100 miles per hour. Come and see this piece of Duncan's proud history and step back in time to a former era when Duncan was the first scheduled stop of the 905 passenger train.
Venture inside the Rock Island 905 Museum & Travel Center and witness exhibits that include dispatcher phones, a dispatcher desk and a variety of communication-themed displays. G-scale model trains run around the inside of the depot and model train exhibits are also featured. The depot, locomotive are fenced, but access to them can be made through the east entrance of the depot during open hours.