Kiowa County Historical Museum
The Kiowa County Historical Museum occupies the historic Rock Island Railroad Depot, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The depot was built in 1909 and was in use until the 1970s. The museum is filled with memorabilia, antiques, early American furniture and historical items from the area. Exhibits include an American Indian artifact room, early 1900s farm equipment, covered wagons and buggies, a Union Pacific caboose, a school house with original furniture, old post office window and quilts. One must-see piece is the statue of Chief Lone Wolf, which was carved from the remaining trunk of a large elm tree by chainsaw carver Clayton Coss. Admission to the museum is free, but donations are accepted.