Muscogee Nation

1008 Bear Ln
Okmulgee, OK 74447

Muscogee Nation

1008 Bear Ln
Okmulgee, OK 74447
Toll-Free Office:
Office Fax:

The Muscogee Nation is a tribal government located in east-central Oklahoma. The Nation's boundaries include 11 counties: Creek, Hughes (Tukvpvtce), Mayes, McIntosh, Muskogee, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Rogers, Seminole, Tulsa and Wagoner.

The Muscogee people are descendants of a remarkable culture that before 1500 spanned much of what is now the southeast U.S. Early ancestors of the Muscogee constructed magnificent earthen pyramids along the rivers and later built expansive towns within the broad river valleys. The Muscogee were once one of the most sophisticated political organizations north of Mexico.

The coming of Europeans dramatically changed the Muscogee Confederacy. In the early 19th century, U.S. Indian policy focused on the removal of the Muscogee and the other Southeastern tribes to areas west of the Mississippi River. In the removal treaty of 1832, Muscogee leadership exchanged the last of Muscogee ancestral homelands for new lands in Indian Territory in what is now Oklahoma. While a portion of the Muscogee settled in the new homeland, the majority of Muscogee people were forcibly removed in 1836 and 1837 to Indian Territory.

In the new nation, tribal towns were reestablished and the nation as a whole began to experience a new prosperity until the American Civil War. While the majority of Muscogee people desired neutrality, it proved impossible and eventually Muscogee citizens fought on both Union and Confederate sides. In the late 1800s, the Dawes Commission began negotiating with the Muscogee Nation for the allotment of the national domain and in 1898, the U.S. Congress passed the Curtis Act dismantling the national governments of the Five Civilized Tribes. Allotment of Muscogee lands became inevitable.

In the 1970s, the Muscogee people began pursuing their sovereign rights to maintain a national court system and levy taxes. Today the Muscogee people are actively engaged in the process of accepting and asserting the rights and responsibilities of a sovereign nation as well as knowing and preserving their distinct cultural heritage.

The Muscogee Nation offers many attractions for the traveling tourist. Located within the jurisdictional boundaries of the Nation are nine casinos, various state parks and historic sites. Three travel plazas (two feature casino gaming machines), an 18-hole par 72 golf course and a 50+ acre recreational omniplex are all available.

Although the official, legal name is "Muscogee (Creek) Nation," as written in their Constitution, the Nation prefers "Muscogee Nation," as (Creek) was a misnomer coined by the British.




Monday: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
A special thanks to our advertisers