Strayhouse Kitchen + Coffee
Located in a century-old lumber yard in historic Downtown Clinton, Strayhouse Kitchen + Coffee specializes in health-conscious comfort food made from scratch, fresh-baked sweets, locally-roasted coffees from Casual Coffee Roasters, teas and various non-coffee drinks, local beer and wine.
The "Main Dining Building" was constructed out of the hardware store and office building of Washita Lumber Company, completed in 1907. In 1910, LongBell Lumber Company of KCMO purchased Washita Lumber Company and renovated the structure in 1926 to add a blue paver stone facade and large glass storefront windows. When LongBell Lumber declared bankruptcy in 1956, TH Rogers of Oklahoma purchased the property and operated out of the location until 2012. The property sat vacant until 2016, when Strayhouse Kitchen + Coffee repurposed the space to function as a restaurant and espresso bar.
Using as much of the original materials found on the property and structure, Strayhouse designed the building to resemble a modern take on the renderings they found of the building's original remodel, circa the 1920s, completed by LongBell Lumber Company of Kansas City, MO. Strayhouse has become a popular stop for those who appreciate early Oklahoma architecture.